Baseball In A Glove graphic

The 5A/6A North All-Star baseball team playing in the Mississippi Association of Coaches Crossroads Diamond Club game against its South counterparts will have a decidedly DeSoto County slant to it.

Eight players from schools in DeSoto County have been named to the North squad, which will have Center Hill coach Neil Frederic joined by Warren Central coach Conner Douglas leading the team.

The North players will include Myles Christian of Olive Branch, Luke Clement, Reed Logsdon and Bradley Smith of DeSoto Central, C.J. Dunn of Center Hill, Hunter Riggins and Robert Wilcke of Hernando, along with Jake Tyrone of Lewisburg.

The game is set for June 3 at Trustmark Park in Pearl and is part of an annual event that will also have 1A/2A and 3A/4A all-stars from both sides of the state take part.

Meanwhile, baseball and softball playoffs were set to start this weekend and some fans may want to check ahead before venturing out to their favorite ballparks.

Some of the county teams have chosen to move up playoff games scheduled for Friday to Thursday to avoid possible rainy weather this weekend.

Center Hill baseball and softball teams did that in MHSAA 5A, with the baseball team’s Friday game with Saltillo being moved to Thursday evening at Center Hill, starting at 7 p.m. The softball team’s playoff contest with Vicksburg at home has also been moved to Thursday, starting at 6 p.m.

Southaven at South Panola and Hernando at Olive Branch in Class 6A baseball will also be played on Thursday, instead of Friday.  DeSoto Central had a first-round bye.

Pairings for MHSAA 5A first-round playoffs had Lake Cormorant at New Hope in addition to the Center Hill-Saltillo matchup. Lewisburg received a first-round bye.

Softball pairings in the first round of the MHSAA 6A playoffs featured Olive Branch at Warren Central and Greenville at Southaven. Hernando and DeSoto Central claimed first-round byes.

Lake Cormorant received a first-round bye in MHSAA 5A and will play Neshoba Central in the second round, starting April 25. Lewisburg also received a first-round bye and will face the winner of a series between New Hope and a team from Region 3 that had not been determined as of Wednesday afternoon.

Fans are reminded to check the schools ahead of time to get the latest information.

Bob Bakken is Sports Editor and may be reached at 662-429-6397 ext. 240.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.