Olive Branch district champions

The Olive Branch boys' basketball team won the MHSAA 5A-1 district regular season and tournament championship. The Conquistadors took the tournament title with an 87-55 victory over Center Hill Friday, Feb. 16. 

Bob Bakken|DTT

MHSAA 5A-1 boys district championship

Olive Branch 87, Center Hill 55

D.J. Jeffries 22, Kelvin Allen 19 to lead Olive Branch. Brien Kimmons paced Center Hill with 22. Both teams advance to state playoffs.

MHSAA 5A-1 boys district consolation

Lake Cormorant 64, Lewisburg 52

Lake Cormorant advances, Lewisburg eliminated. Kenneth Lewis 21, Montez Allen scored 20 to pace Lake Cormorant. Isaiah Sheffield led Lewisburg with 22 points. Allen achieved 1,000 career points for his Lake Cormorant career, becoming second Gator to do so.

MHSAA 5A-1 girls district championship

Center Hill 38, Lewisburg 31

Both teams advance. Kaylan Morris had 9 points to lead Center Hill, while Claire Fleming led Lewisburg with 10 points.

MHSAA 6A-1 boys district championship

Southaven 62, DeSoto Central 42 (Both teams advance.)

MHSAA 6A-1 boys district consolation

Hernando 46, Horn Lake 43 (Hernando advances, Horn Lake eliminated.)

MHSAA 6A-1 girls district championship

Horn Lake 52, Hernando 46 (overtime) (Both teams advance.)

MHSAA 6A-1 girls district consolation

Southaven 63, DeSoto Central 56 (overtime) (Southaven advances, DeSoto Central eliminated.)

State playoff schedule

MHSAA 6A boys first round

Clinton at DeSoto Central

Hernando at Warren Central

(First round bye: Southaven)

MHSAA 5A boys first round

Ridgeland at Center Hill

Lake Cormorant at Vicksburg

(First round bye: Olive Branch)

MHSAA 6A girls first round

Warren Central at Hernando

Southaven at Clinton

(First round bye: Horn Lake)

MHSAA 5A girls first round

Germantown at Lewisburg

Lake Cormorant at Vicksburg

(First round bye: Center Hill)

Class III state bowling meet at Jackson

DeSoto Central boys (2727) finished fourth and Southaven finished seventh (2341) of the eight teams competing. The DeSoto Central (2213) girls finished sixth among the eight teams. Clinton won both boys and girls state championships, defeating St. Martin 3-2 in the boys' Baker Series finals, and defeating Hancock 3-1 in the girls' Baker Series finals.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.